top of page

History of the Metropolitan Officials Association

The Metropolitan Officials Association was founded in 1962 through the efforts of four prominent high school basketball coaches,Wilford Bonner, Gerald Butler, Jim Foreman, Larry Hawkins and, a basketball official, Malcolm Hemphill. The MOA then consisted of 10 members. Through their tireless efforts, hard work and determination those few members grew the MOA into the largest minority sports officials’ association in the country. Today’s membership is in excess of 100 members and has become an integral participant in programs and clinics sponsored by the Illinois High School Association, Illinois Official Association and the Intra Association Council of Athletic Officials. Through the early effort of the MOA, minority officials in the Chicagoland area sphere of services expanded to the suburban conference as well as in the neighboring states of Indiana, Wisconsin and Ohio and Georgia, Texas and Florida. The Metropolitan Officials Association is dedicated to producing highly-skilled, mechanically and professionally sound sports officials who are grounded in the knowledgeof the rules of their respective sports. Since its beginning, the MOA has spawned top officials in every level of football, basketball, baseball, including the NCAA Divisions I, II, III, NAIA,and Junior colleges. Our officials have advanced to professional levels in the NFL, USFL, WFL, Arena Football, NCAA, CBA,WNBA, NBA and the Internation Pro-Am. We continue to serve as the catalyst which produces quality officials by providing and promoting training and development.


Wilford Bonner

Gerald Butler

Jim Foreman

Larry Hawkins

Malcolm Hemphill

Honorary Members

L.T. Bonner (deceased)                                           Nathaniel Humphrey (deceased)

James Capers                                                          John McClendon (deceased)

Mel Chappel                                                           Harold Mitchell

Danny Crawford                                                     Richard Reels

Eugene Crawford                                                   Richard Richardson

Marc Davis                                                            Herb Smith

Forest Harris                                                        Art Sykes

Malcolm Hemphill                                                Art White

Lenoard Hunt (deceased)

bottom of page